Lemon Chiffon?

“Lemon Chiffon?”

“No, Thank you. I’d much prefer tangerine.”

“I’m sorry, ma’am. We don’t have tangerine”, the server chuckled.”

“Really. Well then….chocolate cake, I suppose.  It’ll do.”  

“Tangerine chiffon would have been the perfect delight”, I thought as I awaited the chocolate mousse.  Feeling quite blue over an orange deficit, I realized that if I couldn’t have it in a cake,  I must have it in a dress. And that’s exactly what happened next. Last evening, I ordered a vintage 1960’s chiffon mini, with delicious billowy sheer sleeves and a braided belt. The Pantone color chart made me do it. More importantly, I guess you could say it’s what inspired the name of this blog.  Something about the fabric, or cake by the same name captivates me.  I suppose the fancy free, airy lightness of it is the true culprit. At the end of the day, don’t we all want to be free? Light-hearted? Bouncy, even? Ok…maybe the bounce just applies to me. Nevertheless, I thought about last year’s Shopfast and what an adventure it was and how I mourned a bit when it was over. “Now what?”After all, I learned that I have a knack for story-telling and I kinda like it. And, now I shall chronicle the extravagant gifts of life in my every day details….one scribble at a time.

I am back and I want to twirl.

Blouse: Hattie’s Branches, Trousers: The Loft, Shoes: Nordstrom

14 thoughts on “Lemon Chiffon?

  1. Love your outfit and I am definitely going to be following your blog!

    Feel free to read/ follow mine, as well.

    Can’t wait to read more,

    virginiaalamode.com

    • Hi Julie! I’ll post a picture when it arrives. Hopefully it will fit. yikes. Vintage is tricky in the size department. If not, I will display in a glass box. lol. Come to think of it, I probably should’ve waited for receipt before publishing the blog, but I was too excited. Ha! So glad you stopped by!

  2. Well, hello there, Friend! Aimee, I’m so very happy to see that you’re back. Love your writing style. It’s honest and done with humor. Hope the chiffon dress is all that you hoped. Fabulous name for your new blog! And I’m honored to be on your blogroll (updating mine to include your new writing adventure). Now, if only I could get back on the train. I’m afraid my posts have been lagging since business is kickin’. When the dust settles?

Leave a Reply

