Water Walkin’

These days, I’m learning to expect the unexpected.  It’s funny how you go along in life thinking things will always be a certain way, or that you’ve things figured out…at least for the most part.

“And then, suddenly…”

I sense my family is in a season of suddenly. I love to read the bible. Have you ever noticed how many  suddenly moments are scattered throughout?  Yet, when we are encountered by appointments with destiny, we are surprised. For we who live by this Word, it’s even more astonishing that our response can be utter bewilderment when such things are revealed. Yet, God is patient. He is kind. He is in the direction and the instruction, formulating steps to help us get it just right. Many times, God’s requests of us are too big for us. He wants us to step out. He requires our trust. It’s easy to say, we believe Him, but what about when he asks for all of it: your life, your security, you plan, your destiny? If he asked me to walk on a really big wave, would I? Would I , really?  I was reading about Peter this morning (in the wee hours of this morning…it is 3 am) . I love thinking about Peter; how he saw Jesus coming , and asked to join Him on the water.  Jesus bid him come, and instantly Peter stepped foot on the water.  I was thinking about what it might have been like for Peter…the exhiliration of defying natural law. He was walking on a breaker, knowing that the I AM was empowering Him.Peter, jumped out of that (comfortable, safe, dependable, controllable) boat and walked on a big sea.  

“But when he perceived and felt the strong wind, he was afraid and began to sink.” He saw the waves. They were larger and much stronger than him. Walking on water was miraculous and beyond realm of imagination. He began to doubt. The bible says, “Instantly, Jesus reached out his hand and caught and held him saying, ‘Oh, you of little faith. Why did you doubt?’ ”

Peter saw the waves. He took his eyes off Jesus.

In the book for Mark, the story of Peter was not mentioned, however the incidence of Jesus approaching the boat and calming the storm was, and I like what it said:

“And He went up into the boat with them, and the wind ceased. And they were astonished exceedingly for they failed to consider or understand the teaching and meaning of the miracle of the loaves; in fact their hearts had grown callous (had become dull and had lost the power of understanding.)”


You see, earlier that day, Jesus fed 5000 people with a couple of loaves and fishes. The disciples witnessed it. They had seen, but not understood. The sign witnessed early should have been preparation for the miracle they’d see on the water, but because their hearts were not prepared to receive it, they were caught off guard.  What is he showing you? Are you prepared to receive it? I love the child-like anticipation that caused Peter to jump out of the boat. I love the way the disciples followed Jesus everywhere believing in the signs and wonders. It inspires my faith. But the one thing I must have …that I can’t live without… is the power of understanding. I long to hear and understand more than any sign wrought. I want to know the I Am in a way that propels me across the storms of life, and unchartered waters, unafraid.

He is bidding us all to come.

7 thoughts on “Water Walkin’

  1. Thank you for your thought provoking post today. I read it first thing this morning and was encouraged. I, too, desire to really know and understand HIM. Lovely post all the way around. Thanks again.

  2. I just love this passage of the Bible. It is relevant to everyone in life and proves to us that Jesus has us in His arms and died on the Cross so that we wouldn’t have to face life alone. We can’t do it all, and that’s why Jesus is there for us! Thank you, Aimee!

Leave a Reply

