The Girl In The Mirror.

Growing up, it seems like I recall my parents saying things like ” Take a long, hard look at yourself in the mirror….”  when discussing matters of importance relating to navigation of choices with my moral compass.  Like any well-intentioned, parent-pleasing adolescent, I heeded the advice (to a fault, perhaps). Now, I find my thirty-five year-old self looking in the mirror quite frequently re-playing those conversations, but usually in a context far more vain. Instead of peering into the eyes of a young girl tortured by personal accountability, I find myself asking how in the world she got all the wrinkles!? I chastise her unmercifully about weight gain, tired eyes and the reasons why she refuses to make time for exercise. I point my finger accusing her of a cruel and disgusting misrepresentation of the truth.  But the truth is, reflections don’t lie.  After the emotional rant, I gain composure staring into the sink and back up again. She is still there. I can see that she is compassionate and confident even. She smiles back at me smugly. It’s clear she’s wondering why in the world I’d want to look like those  20-year-old gals anyway. After all, she reminds me,  “You weren’t comfortable with me then either.”

And in those moments of insecurity (and we all have them), I remember this old proverb…

“Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised”.

It helps me.

Leave a Reply

