Discerned.

“Ask and He will answer,

Seek and you will find,

Knock and the door will be opened unto you……”

and when it seems like the requests have been lost in translation (of course they have not) then, I say keep on knocking. Keep on searching.

Discernment is a beautiful gift. It allows us to pierce deeply to the heart of a matter…to separate truth from fiction & fact from fantasy. Merriam’s Dictionary defines it simply as “being able to grasp and comprehend what is obscure”. Insight helps us to understand more clearly about situations and people. It can be our saving grace in troubled times or  the keen insight necessary to make a difficult choice.

We need Godly discernment in order to navigate successfully through this life. At times, when I’ve felt as though someone pressed pause on a a track in the album of my life, I’ve asked the Lord to increase my ability to perceive things as He would.  “But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, He will guide you into ALL truth. He will not speak on His own authority; he will speak only what he hears the father say and he will tell you what is yet to come.” -John 16:13-14.  I ask for his insight and direction. Many things we see and do may seem right, or perhaps they  seem wrong to us, but the truth is, we have to ascertain the heart of the Lord. He knows what to do. He sees circumstances differently….sees people differently….

Yes, God peers through the wide lens on our life….panoramic. He understands the whole picture and how exactly things should line up. I was asking Him  recently about delay of some plans  He’s directed us in. I’ve felt delayed, but not sure if it’s by Him. When I talk to folks, they are so kind to say “It’s all in God’s timing.” And, it is. And, I know that more than anyone.  I don’t want anything  BUT God’s timing in my life. Yet, I couldn’t help feel troubled  in my heart by this pause. It is as if an uninvited guest is detaining us from a deadline. It feels like when you’re on the way to a Doctor’s appointment…totally prepared to be on time and you get a door-to-door solicitor. You’re trying to be patient, kind and understanding, but you are late. Or, perhaps another description would be if you were trying to row your boat out into the gulf, but someone had tied it to the dock.

I knew I had to set myself apart to hear from God on this. I’m a few days into that period of time now. This morning, I was reminded of this story:

“Do not be afraid Daniel. Since the first day that you set your mind to gain understanding and to humble yourself before your God, your words were heard, and I have come in response to them. But the prince of the Persian kingdom resisted me 21 days. Then Michael, one of the chief princes, came to help me because I was detained there with he king of Persia. Now, I have come to explain to you what will happen to your people in the future, for the vision concerns yet a time to come.” Daniel 10:12-14

Daniel had an assignment, and one of which required clear direction. The word he needed was detained because of  the heavenly warfare  that tried to prevent it from coming.  Daniel’s fast, after 21 days, was the key to the breakthrough.

See, many times it is just a “God’s timing” thing, but other times his Spirit invites us toward radical obedience in prayer to release answers or even cut through the schemes the enemy has crafted to detain us.  So, how do you know the difference between delays being simply the timing of the Lord vs. an scheme or debacle aimed to delay? Discernment. I’ve found over the years that when God wants to bring an answer, he puts a hunger in your heart. That hunger drives you to the Word and prayer. Through his Word, he’ll confirm that which He’s spoken to your heart, and you’ll have the faith you need to keep on keepin’ on.

Leave a Reply

