Do the Next Thing

This has been one of those weeks where I just have to enforce a personal code of  mandatory deep breaths. With work ramping up and learning so many new things, it’s easy to become overwhelmed.  So, rather than to fixate on the comprehensive checklist and wondering how to accomplish it, I choose one thing, usually the easiest, and conquer that first. It’s sort of like the Dave Ramsey financial approach to domestic engineering.

Schools are getting more demanding, as is the workplace. People always want something from you. Someone always needs something that requires my participation to aid in the successful execution of their process. And then there are community causes, and church and wonderful outreaches–we all want to be a giver. I always have to find the balance…that my “give out” doesn’t cause me to “give up.”

You’ve been there, right?  I’m learning how to balance a lot of new responsibilities with not a lot of help. It’s very difficult.  It’s a lot of work. And, in a way acknowledging the tough things is part of the deep breath process for me.

It’s ok to wonder. It’s ok to take a break. It’s ok to say,

“Man, this is really hard.”

Steve told me recently, “Aimee you have your own basket of apples and people will never see or fully understand or relate to what’s in your basket because they only see what’s in theirs.” He’s right. We all have unique baskets with different fruit. I’m trying to manage my crop the best I can without comparing and without complaining.

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

